Since 2010 I’ve been eating a gluten-free diet. For a time I also ate dairy-free, but after some more experimentation I’ve found that high quality milk doesn’t bother me like the cheap stuff did. I still drink no more than a glass a day, usually, because good milk is not a cheap commodity. My partner and I both have decided that we’d rather consume higher quality meats and dairy in smaller portions than to eat lots and lots of the cheap stuff. That has become my philosophy about life in general, though, to choose quality over quantity. It seems to be a very wise investment into personal long term health and happiness, not to forget an investment into other people and the environment. My latest food challenge has been helping my partner maintain a corn-free diet. Corn seems to be in everything that is processed, so it’s just another push for all of us to eat things that aren’t processed. Soda, candy, boxed mixes, fast food, and pre-baked goodies are all filled with some form of corn, and are all things we should be avoiding anyway. 

For the longest time my battle to eat well was totally one-sided. I did research, I experimented, and did lots more research. I talked with people I knew about my findings, but was often met with raised eyebrows and disparaging comments. At times my own opinions and goals got pushed aside to accommodate the decisions of others (and my health declined as well), but I never forgot what I had learned. Now, living with my partner, things have been like a dream come true (in so many ways). We share about the same views on food and health, and can keep each other straight when it comes to foods we need to avoid. Having someone who not only trusts me but also encourages me in what I need to do is incredible!

Aside

What do you think?

