Update on Meds. and Pain Management

It’s been 39 days since I first posted that I was going to experiment with going off my medication (Metaxalone) for fibro. It went really well for awhile, but at about the one month mark I started having problems. I did take another dose of Metaxalone a few nights ago because my body was knotting up really bad. I was also having to take Tylenol a lot more frequently than I cared to, for pain and for bad headaches, which could be caused by my body cleaning out the Metaxalone. Honey wanted me to try arnica, so when we went to Whole Foods a few days ago we picked up a little homeopathic tube of arnica montana. I think it’s helping, or at the very least it makes it bearable. Honey grew up on homeopathics, so he’s had to tell me stuff like you can’t eat before/within 30 minutes of taking the pills, no caffeine near taking the pills, and not to touch the pills with your hands if you can help it.

Taking something homeopathic feels better to me, psychologically, because I feel guilty when I go the pharmaceutical route. All the research I’ve done, as well as what I’ve experienced, has forever tainted my ability to trust modern medicine. It’s really frustrating to me that today’s doctors can’t write out prescriptions (to my knowledge) for vitamins, minerals, etc. and people’s insurance will cover it, but rather insurance only covers pharma. medications. *big sigh. But that’s another topic for another post, probably for another day.

What do you think?

