Understanding Toxins: A Work in Progress

The topic of toxins and detoxifying recently came up in a discussion Honey and I were having. He was saying he didn’t like the nebulous way “toxin” gets used in many alternative health writing, and wanted to know more of the science and technical stuff behind the concept. I did my best to explain what I knew, but I wasn’t much help. I’ve read lots of books and done lots of research online, as well as discussed these things with massage therapists and at least one herbalist. I’ve done a few detoxifying things myself and greatly benefited from them. I know lots of information and personally understand things, and that is sufficient for me. I would love to understand the nuts and bolts aspect of things more clearly, but it doesn’t bug me nearly as much as it bugs Honey. He’s a skeptic by nature, was in a nursing program, has worked as a CNA, and has a great understanding of the human body, etc. so he wants lots and lots of information (in addition to common sense/traditional wisdom). Anyone have any recommendations for a very scientific breakdown of toxins, how the body handles them, why they are bad/how they damage the body, and how to get rid of them?

I personally reference books like: Prescription for Nutritional Healing, Nourishing Traditions, Traditional Foods Are Your Best Medicine, Real Food, Gut and Psychology Syndrome, and many others I’ve forgotten/don’t personally own. Just came across this today on the web and found it to be good: http://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/2009/09/what-are-toxins-in-my-body-detox-101.html

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vinny Grette
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 03:05:29

    Yikes! So because of your post, I looked up toxins in “On food and cooking – The Science and Lore of the Kitchen” by Harold McGee, a world-recognized expert on all things food. I found out many startling things about possible toxins in fruits and veggies and many other disturbing things about food safety and the lack thereof. There is much to learn about!

    Reply

  2. Vinny Grette
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 04:09:58

    It’s a standard reference and you can probably get a copy at the library. I also see excerpts from it on line from time to time when I search for specific info

    Reply

What do you think?

