I Want to Save the World… But How?

There are a lot of things in this world that are really, really wrong. People who are killed, families torn apart, children who are starving. So many of us seem set on promoting violence and war instead of peace. How many millions have died because we couldn’t get along and show love to our neighbors?

Then there are all of the problems that have come with industrialization and modern things. The great power of science is being used for profit instead of the good of the people and the very future of humanity could be at stake (antibiotic resistant illnesses, GMO’s, global warming caused by plastics and so many other things, polluted air and water, chemicals in our food and everything around us).

It’s a lot to take in, and once you have taken it all in, you’re left wondering, “Well… what now? What can I do?”

That’s exactly where I am right now. What can I do? I’m one person. I’m living below the poverty line. I have multiple health problems that greatly restrict my abilities. But I want to do something. So I keep reading, keep discovering great causes worth fighting for, and keep hoping that maybe someday I’ll make a difference. And then I stop and think about all the causes that seem worthy. There are so many of them, you see. They all clamor for support, and they deserve as much support as they can get, but we can’t all support each cause equally. We may give verbal support to many causes, but when it comes to donating our time, money, and energy… our resources are limited. We have to choose which causes are most important to us and then which causes are we best suited to supporting. But it’s hard to focus on one or even a few.

I want to help the orphans in Russia find love and nourishment so they may grow up healthy and happy. I want to feed the starving children in Africa so their mothers will be saved the grief of watching them suffer. My time as a Christian made me yearn to make a difference in the world by spreading the Gospel and caring for the needy. I dreamed of being a missionary in a third-world country, running an orphanage perhaps. I would still find great joy in running an orphanage now, but don’t seem fit for the task at this point.

I want to tell the people of the world to quit trashing the Earth and start behaving responsibly. What we’ve managed to do to our planet during the last 100 years or so is horrendous. We’ve got to be the only species, if you will, on the Earth that acts like it wants to destroy itself. Speaking of destroying itself, I want to cry out in protest of violence and support of peace. I want to speak out about the horrible things done to people, largely women – things like genital mutilation (non-medical circumcision is genital mutilation, by the way), sexual abuse, verbal abuse, ect.

I want to shield people from the damaging effects of any domineering, damning, abusive religion. I’ve written about it a few times here on this blog, but elsewhere I’ve written extensively on the subject. Perhaps someday I’ll share some of that writing here. What goes on in the name of God, Jesus, and religion is downright scary and evil. I’ve watched it happen, had it happen to me, and been a part of it. Oh how easy it is to claim holy justification for what you do and say!

And, of course, I want to spread the word about real foods and how very important they are to our success and survival. If you’ve read much on this blog, you’ve realized how passionate (and opinionated) I am about healthy eating and health in general. After all that I’ve read and experienced, how could I not be? I’ve spent hundreds of hours reading, reading, and reading all I could get my hands on in regards to health and nutrition. The only thing I’ve put more time and energy into is the IFB Christianity that I was a part of for 20 years. Eating real foods in traditional ways seems to hold the answers to so many of our modern problems, so I will advocate for it all I can.

I’m not Wonder Woman. I really don’t know what I’m doing half the time; feels like I make it up as I go. I have personal issues from several years ago that I’m still trying to process. The new information I read daily only adds to what I need to process, as I read stories of mass killings or the latest report on the increase of things like cancer and mental illness. All the information, all the causes, all that needs to be done in this world – it’s all truly overwhelming to me. But I use this blog and social media to get the word out, make people think, and further strengthen my own resolve with every word I type. For now, the almighty word written on the internet will be how I make a difference. Please find your own niche, your own causes, and be an advocate for them! We need everyone to get involved for the whole world to feel the difference.

What do you think?

