The Letter I Wouldn’t Have Read Either

So much of this woman’s description of her former husband fits the description of my former husband. He never used physical abuse, though. He used words and psychology in a war of attrition against my sanity and self.

Deliberate Donkey

To Donkey’s New Girlfriend:

So I see you’re FaceBook official. I’ve heard you’ve spent the night in his home, with the children present. It must be serious. It’s time, then, for us to have a little chat.

I know what you are going to suffer. You’ve waded into the water and found it pleasant, tepid, refreshing. You’ll walk deeper and deeper until you can no longer touch bottom or see the shore. You will trust the water to float you. Lurking underneath is the rip tide. It will snatch you. Pull you under. Drown you.

I know what you are going to suffer, but I cannot warn you. You won’t hear the warning, even blasting at full volume with closed-captioning. I know because I was warned. I threw those warnings to the side. I ignored the red flags. I ventured forward with a man who was not who he presented. So did Sarah. So…

View original post 571 more words

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    May 20, 2013 @ 14:48:49

    Thank you so much for sharing this with your readers.
    Words are as hurtful, more so sometimes, as punches. No matter how the abuse is perpetrated, it’s wrong and takes strength to escape and heal from. I’m glad he’s your former husband. I hope things are looking up for you.

    Reply

What do you think?

