Once upon a time, I came to hate Disney

Soooo true.

Street of Dreams

I’ve never much been a fan of Disney, I’ll admit it, even as a kid, I’d rather play sky-diving Barbies than sit down and watch a Disney movie. I never wanted to be a Disney princess, except maybe for Belle, and that was only because of the awesome library.  It just wasn’t my thing.  So it wasn’t until later, when I was much older, that I actually watched the Disney cannon and realized the movies had awful moral values until…..

Hope.

Disney decided to create a female character that bucked the overwhelming trends of their franchise series, choosing to pursue her dreams rather than pursue a husband. Applauded for this incredibly late foray into the twenty-first century, quickly Disney had to shoot itself in the foot.

When Braves strong female lead, Merida, was introduced inMay as an official Disney princess, she was a starkly different character than then…

View original post 501 more words

What do you think?

